Imp. links

Toronto International Film Festival (TIFF)






Toronto People’s Choice Award for SILVER LININGS PLAYBOOK

Toronto International Film Festival (TIFF) came to a close and its most coveted The BlackBerry People's Choice Award that is voted by the festival audiences has gone to David O. Russell for his film SILVER LININGS PLAYBOOK. The film is an intense, loving, emotional and funny family story from the director of THE FIGHTER, in which Bradley Cooper and Jennifer Lawrence find themselves partners in a secret arrangement to rebuild their broken lives. Robert De Niro yearns to get closer to his son (Cooper), as he tries to keep the family afloat with his compulsive bookmaking. The award offers a $15,000 cash prize and custom award, sponsored by BlackBerry. First runner up is Ben Affleck’s ARGO. The second runner up is Eran Riklis’ ZAYTOUN.

The BlackBerry People’s Choice Midnight Madness Award went to Martin McDonagh’s SEVEN PSYCHOPATHS, a story a struggling screenwriter (Colin Farrell) who inadvertently becomes entangled in the Los Angeles criminal underworld after his oddball friends (Christopher Walken and Sam Rockwell) kidnap a gangster’s (Woody Harrelson) beloved Shih Tzu. Co-starring Abbie Cornish, Tom Waits, Olga Kurylenko and Zeljko Ivanek. First runner up is Barry Levinson’s THE BAY and second runner up is Don Coscarelli’s JOHN DIES AT THE END.

The BlackBerry People’s Choice Documentary Award went to Bartholomew Cubbins for ARTIFACT. The film tells harsh truths about the modern music business, and gives intimate access to singer/actor Jared Leto and his band Thirty Seconds to Mars as they battle their label in a brutal lawsuit and record their album This Is War. First runner up is Christopher Nelius and Justin McMillan’s STORM SURFERS 3D. Second runner up is Rob Stewart’s REVOLUTION.

The newly instituted NETPAC Award for the Best First or Second Feature World or International Asian Film Premiere It is selected by a jury from the Network for the Promotion of Asian Cinema. Jury members include Laurice Guillen (Philippines),

Shelly Kraicer (Toronto/Beijing) and Azize Tan (Istanbul).The award goes to Sion Sono’s THE LAND OF HOPE. The jury remarked: “For its subtle, complex and artful account of the social and political aspects of a national trauma that ends in hope and love, the 2012 Toronto International Film Festival NETPAC Award for best feature film is given to THE LAND OF HOPE by Sion Sono.”

Earlier in the Festival, the inaugural winner of the Grolsch Film Works Discovery Award WAS ANNOUNCED. THE AWARD WENT TO ROLA NASHEF WHOSE FILM, Detroit Unleaded, was presented as part of the Discovery programme. Nashef was presented with the award which includes a $10,000 cash prize to put toward her next project.

Though there was a strong presence of Indian films this year at TIFF, none could win an award.

Toronto FIPRESCI prize to Francois Ozon’s IN THE HOUSE

The International Federation of Film Critics (FIPRESCI) Prize for of the 37th Toronto International Film Festival went to Francois Ozon’s DANS LA MAISON (IN THE HOUSE).

The jury presented two prizes at an awards ceremony held today at the Intercontinental Hotel in Toronto. The jury remarked: “For achieving an exquisitely crafted entertainment that blurs the distinction between the storyteller and the story told, and that assuages with play ful complexity the tragedies of life with the consolations of art, the FIPRESCI award for Special Presentations goes to Francois Ozon’s IN THE HOUSE.”

The FIPRESCI Prize for the Discovery programme is awarded to Mikael Marcimain’s CALL GIRL. The jury remarked: “With an intense sense of cinema reminiscent of the American thrillers of the 1970s, Mikael Marcimain’s debut feature achieves a portrait of an obscure world involving women’s rights and political corruption. Marcimain deals with his sensitive subject with immense ease and craftsmanship. Because of these accomplishments the FIPRESCI Award for Best Film in the Discovery programme goes to Mikael Marcimain’s CALL GIRL.”

The FIPRESI jury

Peter Keough, The Boston Phoenix – United States – Jury President

Jon Asp, Variety; Smalandsposten; Helsingbor gsdagblad; FLM; Fokus – Sweden

Ashok Rane, Maharashtra Times; Saptahik Sakal – India

Louis-Paul Rioux, – Canada

Juan Manuel Dominguez, Diario Perfil; Inrockuptibles; El Amante Cine – Argentina

Brian McKechnie, Criticize This!; t.o.night newspaper – Canada

Rajesh Kumar Singh