Imp. links

Toronto International Film Festival (TIFF)






ENGLISH VINGLISH to world premiere in Toronto International Film Festival (TIFF)

Piers Handling, CEO and Director, and Cameron Bailey, Artistic Director, of the Toronto International Film Festival (TIFF), have made the  announcement of the first list of films to premiere at the 37th TIFF. These include 17 titles in the Galas section and 45 in Special Presentations programme, with 38 world premieres. ENGLISH VINGLISH, a film by debutant director Gauri Shinde and the comeback vehicle of Sridevi after a 14 year’s gap, is in the Galas list. The film is produced by Balki and also stars French actor Mehdi Nebbou, Adil Hussain and Priya Anand. Amitabh Bachchan has a guest appearance in it. It will be the world premiere of the film in advance of its domestic release on 21st September, 2012. Deepa Mehta’s MIDNIGHT’S CHILDREN (Canada/ United Kingdom) will also have its world premiere in this section while THE RELUCTANT FUNDAMENTALIST by Mira Nair will have its North American premiere. It is worth a mention that films like LAGAAN and SLUMDOG MILLIONAIRE first got noticed at TIFF. The Festival runs from September 6 to 16, 2012.

Among the other world premieres are films by directors like Andrew Adamson, Ben Affleck, David Ayer, Maiken Baird, Noah Baumbach, J.A. Bayona, Stuart Blumberg, Josh Boone, Laurent Cantet, Sergio Castellitto, Stephen Chbosky, Lu Chuan, Derek Cianfrance, Nenad Cicin-Sain, Costa-Gavras, Ziad Doueiri, Liz Garbus, Dustin Hoffman, Rian Johnson, Neil Jordan, Baltasar Kormákur, Shola Lynch, Roger Michell, Nishikawa Miwa, Ruba Nadda, Mike Newell, François Ozon, Sally Potter, Robert Pulcini & Shari Springer Berman, Eran Riklis, David O. Russell, Ben Timlett & Bill Jones & Jeff Simpson, Tom Tykwer & Andy Wachowski & Lana Wachowski, Margarethe von Trotta, Joss Whedon and Yaron Zilberman.

“We are thrilled to announce so many exciting and prestigious films today, with many more to follow,” said Handling. “This year’s Festival is looking particularly strong with bold, adventuresome work coming from established and emerging filmmakers.”

“This year we present our most diverse Gala programme to date with films from Japan, China, India, the United Kingdom, Denmark, Italy, USA and Canada,” said Bailey. “Toronto’s red carpet is a global one and we’re excited to welcome some of the world’s best filmmakers and greatest stars to Canada.”

Here is the complete list of films announced so far:-


A Royal Affair Nikolai Arcel, Denmark/Sweden/Czech Republic/Germany North American Premiere

Argo Ben Affleck, USA World Premiere

The Company You Keep Robert Redford, USA North American Premiere

Dangerous Liaisons Hur Jin-ho, China North American Premiere

English Vinglish Gauri Shinde, India World Premiere

Love, Marilyn Liz Garbus, USA World Premiere

Midnight’s Children Deepa Mehta, Canada/ United Kingdom World Premiere

The Reluctant Fundamentalist Mira Nair, USA North American Premiere

Silver Linings Playbook David O. Russell, USA World Premiere

Thermae Romae Hideki Takeuchi, Japan North American Premiere

Twice Born Sergio Castellitto, Italy/Spain/Croatia World Premiere

Free Angela & All Political Prisoners Shola Lynch, USA/France World Premiere

Great Expectations Mike Newell, United Kingdom World Premiere

Hyde Park on Hudson Roger Michell, United Kingdom World Premiere

Inescapable Ruba Nadda, Canada World Premiere

Jayne Mansfield’s Car Billy Bob Thornton, USA/Russia North American Premiere film

Looper Rian Johnson, USA World Premiere (Opening Film)


A Few Hours of Spring Stéphane Brizé, France North American Premiere

Anna Karenina Joe Wright, United Kingdom International Premiere

At Any Price Ramin Bahrani, United Kingdom/USA North American Premiere

The Attack Ziad Doueiri, France World Premiere

Byzantium Neil Jordan, United Kingdom World Premiere

Capital Costa-Gavras, France World Premiere

Caught in the Web Chen Kaige, Japan/China International Premiere

Cloud Atlas Tom Tykwer, Andy Wachowski, Lana Wachowski, USA World Premiere

The Deep (Djúpi•) Baltasar Kormákur, Iceland/Norway World Premiere

Dormant Beauty Marco Bellocchio, Italy/France International Premiere

Dreams for Sale Nishikawa Miwa, Japan World Premiere

End Of Watch David Ayer, USA World Premiere

Everybody Has A Plan Ana Piterbarg, Argentina International Premiere

Foxfire Laurent Cantet, France/Canada World Premiere

Frances Ha Noah Baumbach, USA World Premiere

Ginger and Rosa Sally Potter, United Kingdom World Premiere

Hannah Arendt Margarethe von Trotta, Germany World Premiere

The Hunt Thomas Vinterberg, Denmark North American Premiere

The Iceman Ariel Vromen, USA North American Premiere

Imogene Robert Pulcini, Shari Springer Berman, USA World Premiere

The Impossible J.A. Bayona, Spain/USA World Premiere

In the House François Ozon, France World Premiere

Kon-Tiki Joachim Roenning and Espen Sandberg, United Kingdom/Norway/Denmark International Premiere

The Last Supper Lu Chuan, China World Premiere

A Late Quartet Yaron Zilberman, USA World Premiere

A Liar’s Autobiography — The Untrue Story of Monty Python's Graham Chapman

Lore Cate Shortland, Australia/United Kingdom/Germany North American Premiere

Mr. Pip Andrew Adamson, New Zealand World Premiere

Much Ado About Nothing Joss Whedon, USA World Premiere

No Pablo Larraín, Chile/USA North American Premiere

Outrage Beyond Takeshi Kitano, Japan North American Premiere

The Perks of Being a Wallflower Stephen Chbosky, USA World Premiere

The Place Beyond the Pines Derek Cianfrance, USA World Premiere

Quartet Dustin Hoffman, United Kingdom World Premiere

Reality Matteo Garrone, Italy/France North American Premiere

Rust and Bone Jacques Audiard, France/Belgium North American Premiere

The Sapphires Wayne Blair, Australia North American Premiere

The Sessions Ben Lewin, USA International Premiere

Tai Chi 0 Stephen Fung, China North American Premiere

Thanks for Sharing Stuart Blumberg, USA World Premiere

The Time Being Nenad Cicin-Sain, USA World Premiere

To The Wonder Terrence Malick, USA North American Premiere

Venus & Serena Maiken Baird, USA World Premiere

Writers Josh Boone, USA World Premiere

Zaytoun Eran Riklis, United Kingdom/Israel/France World Premiere

Rajesh Kumar Singh